Community Action Teams (CATs)

CATs are groups of service providers and community partners who are working to develop local strategies to address prostitution and sexual exploitation. While working towards the goal of eliminating the exploitation of children and youth through prostitution, CATs also focus on harm reduction and improving the working and living conditions for adult prostitutes. Activities include prevention and education, service coordination and legal/enforcement approaches.

Community Action Teams are comprised of service providers such as police, social workers, and health professionals; representatives from municipal and provincial governments; educators and school administrators; parents; youth; and non-profit agencies.

Abbotsford Community Action Team Contact: Sheila Lum Phone: 604 556-4619 Email: Sheila.Lum@abbotsfordcommunityservices.com

Burnaby-New Westminster Task Force on Sexually Exploited At-Risk Youth
Contact: Carla Schuk
Phone: 604 294-7299
Email: socialplanning@burnaby.ca


Campbell River Sexual Exploitation Action Team
Contact: Valery Puetz
Phone: 250 287-7384
Email: valery.puetz@annelmorehouse.ca


Chilliwack Community Action Team
Contact: TBD (currently selecting a new committee Chair)
Phone:
Email:


Clearwater Community Action Team
Contact: Melanie Williams
Email: md_williams@live.ca


Coquitlam/Port Coquitlam/Port Moody Community Action Team
Contact: Diane Sowden
Phone: 604 777-7510 or 1-877-551-6611
Email: dsowden@childrenofthestreet.com


Courtenay (CASEY) Community Action Team
Contact: Alexis Forbes
Email: caseycomoxvalley@gmail.com

Langley - End Exploitation Contact: Danny Ferguson Phone: 604 968-1812 Email: danny@youthunlimited.com

Nanaimo Community Action Team Contact: Nicole or Rhonda Phone: 1-855-406-8034 Email: Communityactionteam@outlook.com


Prince George CASEY (Community Against Sexual Exploitation of Youth)
Contact: Terri Norum
Phone: 250 614-2686
Email: terri.norum@justiceeducation.ca

Ridge Meadows Community Action Team
Contact: Wilf Leung
Email: wleung@plea.bc.ca


Squamish SAFFE Community Action Team
Contact: Andrea Sentesy
Phone: 604 892-5748
Email: saffeproject@hswc.ca

Surrey SEY Outreach Program Contact: Leanne Atkinson Phone: 604 587-8120 Email: LAtkinson@pcrs.ca


Vancouver Community Action Team
Contact: Camila Jimenez
Phone: 604 708-2647
Email: cjimenez@plea.bc.ca


Victoria Capital Region Action Team
Contact: Bill McElroy
Phone: 250 920-5297
Email: bill@mcelroys.ca