Community Action Teams (CATs)

CATs are groups of service providers and community partners who are working to develop local strategies to address prostitution and sexual exploitation. While working towards the goal of eliminating the exploitation of children and youth through prostitution, CATs also focus on harm reduction and improving the working and living conditions for adult prostitutes. Activities include prevention and education, service coordination and legal/enforcement approaches.

Community Action Teams are comprised of service providers such as police, social workers, and health professionals; representatives from municipal and provincial governments; educators and school administrators; parents; youth; and non-profit agencies.

Burnaby-New Westminster Task Force on Sexually Exploited At-Risk Youth
Contact: Joan Selby
Phone: 604 294-7299
Email: joan.selby@city.burnaby.bc.ca


Campbell River Sexual Exploitation Action Team
Contact: Valery Puetz
Phone: 250 287-7384
Email: valery.puetz@annelmorehouse.ca


Chilliwack Community Action Team
Contact: Brenda Listoen
Phone: 604 798-3246
Email: listoenb@comserv.bc.ca


Clearwater Community Action Team
Contact: Melanie Williams
Email: md_williams@live.ca


Coquitlam/Port Coquitlam/Port Moody Community Action Team
Contact: Diane Sowden
Phone: 604 777-7510 or 1-877-551-6611
Email: dsowden@childrenofthestreet.com


Courtenay (CASEY) Community Action Team
Contact: Miranda Blomquist
Phone: 250 338-7341
Email: miranda@jhsni.bc.ca


Fraser Valley Community Action Team
Contact: Bev Olfert
Phone: 604 854-8785
Email: bev@abbyyouth.com


Prince George CASEY (Community Against Sexual Exploitation of Youth)
Contact: Diane Nakamura
Phone: 250 565-6260
Email: caseyprincegeorge@gmail.com


Richmond Community Action Team
Contact: Kate Rudelier
Email: KRudelier@richmond.ca

Ridge Meadows Community Action Team
Contact: Wilf Leung
Phone: 604 476-2820
Email: wleung@plea.bc.ca
Contact: Charlotte Rechkemmer
Email: crechkemmer@pcrs.ca


Squamish SAFFE Community Action Team
Contact: Andrea Sentesy
Phone: 604 892-5748
Email: saffeproject@hswc.ca


Vancouver Community Action Team
Contact: Camila Jimenez
Phone: 604 708-2647
Email: cjimenez@plea.bc.ca


Victoria Capital Region Action Team
Contact: Bill McElroy
Phone: 778-265-2420
Email: bill@mcelroys.ca
Contact: Ellie James – Boys and Girl Club Services of Greater Victoria
Phone: 250 686-9117
Email: ejames@bgcvic.org